CTHM’s Sentro Turismo turns over five-year sustainable strategic tourism dev’t plan to Ormic City

The College of Tourism and Hospitality Management, through its UST Sentro Turismo, conducted Pagsibol Ormoc City on June 28, 2024 (Friday) at the Ormoc City Hall, Province of Leyte. Pagsibol Ormoc City concentrated on presenting and officially submitting the Sustainable Strategic Tourism Development Plan 2023-2028, which conceptualized a sustainable strategic tourism development plan for the City based on the value- and rights-based developmental approach through cultural and heritage significance, current internal and external environments, the tourism and hospitality-related plans and implemented programs and projects, and the perspectives of different primary and secondary stakeholders.

The project is in partnership with the City Government, represented by its Mayor, Hon. Lucy Torres-Gomez, Hon. Richard I. Gomez, DPA (Congressman, 4th District of Leyte), the members of the Sanggunian Panlungsod Committee on Tourism, Culture, Heritage, and the Arts, the City Tourism Council, and the Ormoc City Tourism Office. At the same time, the was represented by the Assistant Dean of the College of Tourism and Hospitality Management, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Evangeline E. Timbang, and the members of the project team.

Mayor Torres-Gomez pointed out during her Message of Appreciation that the plan will provide them with significant measures for conceptualizing their programs and projects for the sustainable tourism development of the city. It also allowed the government to be aware of the current negative situations in the Ormoc Tourism Industry that it must address. After the output presentation, the Sanggunian Committee approved the Resolution adopting the plan.

The project team was headed by its Project Director, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Atty. Gezzez Giezi G. Granado, together with its members, Asst. Prof. Jame Monren T. Mercado (Project Coordinator and Writer/Researcher), Asst. Prof. Maria Concepcion A. Ang (Writer/Researcher), Dr. Fhamela F. Sarmiento (Writer/Researcher), Mr. Wyett White T. Lee (Writer/Researcher), Mr. Alec P. Bagcus (Writer/Researcher), Ms. Andrea Nicole D. Hernandez (Research Assistant), and Mr. Allan B. Bundang (Graphic Artist).

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter